Mr Allen

At Barnwood C of E Primary School our children are taught computing. They additionally have many opportunities to use ICT across a wide range of subjects. E-Safety is paramount and pupils are taught about how to keep themselves safe online.

The new computing curriculum develops both computing skills and knowledge. Pupils are taught computer science, which includes learning how to code. To help develop understanding we use Bee-Bots in Key Stage One and in Key Stage Two we initially use Scratch. Children learn about programming, algorithms, networks and data, enabling children to develop their understanding of the principles of computer science.

The New Computing Curriculum emphasises three key areas of learning:

Computer Science - how computers work and using algorithms to eventually create programs, games and interactive stories.

Information Technology - how data is represented and managed on computers.

Digital Literacy - how to understand digital information and interact with it safely and appropriately.

For further information click on the links below:

Computing at school

Computing in the National Curriculum:

National Curriculum Computing